About Us

The Latrobe Valley Astronomical Society is based in the Latrobe Valley region of Gippsland, in Victoria, Australia. It caters for all with an interest in astronomy, from the budding star-gazer to the established amateur astronomer. The society began in Moe back in 1954 and has an observatory located on Coach Road Hill in Yallourn.

We welcome visitors to our monthly meetings, most of which are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7.30pm at Wirilda Education Centre, and monthly observing nights, held on a Friday night around new moon.

Members receive a bi-monthly Newsletter (Sample), have access to books and periodicals on astronomy and are able to participate in regular viewing nights.

The Society provides an Astronomy Education service for schools and other community groups. Education sessions can be tailored to your requirements, so feel free to contact us (see below for contact details).

President   Chris Morley
Vice President John Sunderland
Secretary Paul Odgers
Treasurer Christopher Moy
Committee Member(s) Chris Stockdale
 Tracey Matthies
 Rim Zitkevicius
 Mark Jarred
Contacting Us
Postal Address
PO Box 459,
Victoria    3825
Chris 0417 583 239
John (03) 5122 3014

Full -$ 25.00
Distant -$ 13.00
Student -$ 19.00
Junior -$ 13.00
Family -$ 38.00
Membership Application
(Annual subscriptions fall due each year on July 1st.)
("Distant" means resident more than 50 km from Churchill)